VIENNA HOTELS ONLINE - VHO


english version deutsch Verzion magyar változat versione italiana
English Deutsch Magyar Italiano

Austrian provinces and capitals


Vienna Hotel Guide:
Hotels by Stephansplatz
Hotels in Mariahilferstrasse (Westbahnhof)
Hotels near Südbahnhof
Hotels near Schönbrunn
Hotels categorised by districts
Cheap hotels in Vienna
Pet friendly hotels
Ecohotel
Hotels with air conditioner
Hotels for handicapped people
Hotels offering free parking
Internet in the hotel
Hotel with waterbed
Family friendly hotels
Hotels in greenbelt
Hotels in the city centre
Pensions
Hostel
Room reservation
Hotel rates
Seasons
Searching for accommodation
Seasonal hotels

Vienna City Guide:
Prater
Hofburg
Stephansdom
Museums Quartier Vienna
Albertina Museum
Vienna Zoo
Spanish Riding School
Vienna International Airport
Distances from Vienna
The Viennese Beisl
Using the Internet in Vienna
Money exchange
Public transport in Vienna
Taxi in Vienna
Where to go shopping?
Mariahilferstrasse
Sightseeing by carriage
Vienna - UNESCO World Heritage Site

Austria Tourist Guide:
Austrian provinces and capitals
Hotel categories in Austria
Salzburg - UNESCO World Heritage Site
Travellers' dictionary
Skiing in Austria
Travelling by Train in Austria


Hotel Booking
Car Rental
Burgenland

The total area of the easternmost province of Austria is 3 965, 46 km.. To the northeast it borders with Hungary. Its capital city is Eisenstadt. The province consists of 7 districts and 2 cities (Eisenstadt and Rust). The great majority of the inhabitants is German. Once the province belonged to the Kingdom of Hungary. Despite the Turkish attacks plenty of castles, churches and fortresses remained. The cultural centre of Burgenland is Eisenstadt. Also Joseph Haydn worked here for years. This province is not the most prominent one concerning tourism but bicycle tours are notable in throughout the region.

Eisenstadt: The city is located 12 km far from Sopron (Hungarian border). Once it was the centre of the iron trade. In Eisenstadt it is worth visiting the Esterházy castle, the Haydn Museum, the Franciscan church and cloister as well as the dome.

Most important sights of the region: Neusiedlersee, the Esterházy castle and the Haydn Museum in Eisenstadt, the castle of Forchtenstein and Güssing, the castle ruins of Landsee, the gothic church of Mariasdorf


Carinthia

Carinthia famous for its mountain ranges and lakes is the southernmost province of Austria. The total area of the province is 9 535, 97 km., its capital city is Klagenfurt. The majority of the inhabitants of this region are German-speaking people. Wörther See the famous lake of Carinthia located west from Klagenfurt drags a lot of tourists to the region during the summer. Except for Wörther See the following lakes are also popular: Millstätter See, Ossiacher See and Weißensee. In addition to the lakes mountains and alpine landscapes are also beloved by the tourists in summer. The most popular ski centres of the province are Bad Kelinkirchheim, Nassfeld, Innerkrems and Gerlitzen.

Klagenfurt: The city is situated at the eastern part of the lake Wörther See. The summer is usually very hot and winter is long and very cold. During the past years the city burned down and was rebuilt several times so today it is a modern city. The symbol of Klagenfurt is a dragon (Lindwurm). The most important sights of the city are: the Minimundus, the Lindwurm fountain, Hochosterwitz castle and the baroque cathedral.

Most important sights of the region: Klagenfurt and Villach, St. Paul's abbey in Lavanttal, lakes: Wörther See, Ossiacher See, Faaker See and Millstätter See, ski centres: Nassfeld/Hermagor, Gerlitzen, Bad Kleinkirchheim and Heiligenblut, Gurk cathedral, Hochosterwitz castle, Großglockner the highest mountain of Ausztria and the area of Nockberge.


Lower Austria

The largest province with its area of 19 177,78 km. is located at the north-eastern part of Austria. Its capital is St. A province is divided into the following regions: Waldviertel ("Forest quarter") and Weinviertel ("Vine quarter") Industrieviertel, ("Industry quarter") and Mostviertel ("Must quarter"). Mostviertel and the bigger cultural centres are the most popular among with the tourists. On the other hand rural tourism is also improving. In winter the ski centres attract a lot of people to the area. The highlights of Lower Austria are the cloisters, castles, museums, exhibitios, open-air stages, organisations as well as festivals.

St. Pölten: The city is located in the south-western part of the region in the Mostviertel ("Must quarter"). During the past 20 years St. Pölten became the cultural centre of Lower Austria. Int he city it is worth visiting the City hall, the dome, the Franciscan church, the Ochsenburg castle, the City Museum and the Bishop's court.

Most important sights of the region: Cloisters (Melk, Dürnstein, Seitenstetten, Göttweig, Klosterneuburg, Zwettl), castles with constant exhibitions (Schallaburg, Schloss Grafenegg, Schloss Thürnthal, Schloss Wilfersdorf, Schloss Hof), StateMuseum of Lower Austria, the roman excavations in Caruntumban, the Prehistory Museum, open-air stages in Berndorf, Stockerau, Langenlois and Rosenburg


Upper Austria

Upper Austria is located in the northern part of Austria in the Danube valley. The total area of the region is 11.981,92 km. and its capital is Linz. It is the province of the mysterious forests, clear lakes and streams, green fields, water and mountain ranges. You can find the Kalkalpen National Park and the Rechberg National Park in this area. The region favours those tourists who are fond of adventure, hiking or bycicle tours. The 170m deep Attersee the clearest lake of Austria is located also in Upper Austria. It is also worth visiting Hallstatt, the town close to which a roman burying-place can be found as well as the Aistersheim Water Castle, the Castle of Greinburg and the Cloister of Kremsmünster.

Linz: Linz the third biggest city of Austria is divided into two parts by the Danube River. In 2009 Linz will be the cultural capital of Europe. The city awaits the tourists with plenty of sights such as the Main square, the Old dome, the State Museum of Upper Austria, the Castle, the Bishop's Palace and the Botanical Garden.

Most important sights of the region: Linz, Hallstatt, lakes in the region of Salzkammergut , Kalkalpen National Park, Rechberg National Park, State Museum of Upper Austria, Ars Electronica Center, the Gahberg Observatoty, the caves of Dachstein


Salzburg

Salzburg located at the northern part of the Alps is one of the smallest provinces of Austria. The total area of the province is 7154,23 km.. Its capital is also called Salzburg. This region offers plenty of programmes for the visitors. You can find the Eisriesenwelt, the largest system of ice caves of Europe, the Krimml waterfall and a lot of salt mines in this province. The two world famous spa towns of Ausztria Bad Gastein and Bad Hofgastein await those who would like to relax enjoying pleasant water. In winter you can choose among various ski areas such as Sportwelt Amadé (St. Johann im Pongau, Flachau, Zauchensee, Wagrain), Hochkönig Winterreich (Dienten ma Hochkönig, Maria Alm), Europasportregion (Kaprun, Zell am See), Saalbach Hinterglemm, Obertauern, Gasteinertal (Bad Gastein, Bad Hofgastein, Dorfgastein), Wildkogel Arena (Neukirchen am Großvenediger), Werfenweng and Lofer.

Salzburg: The town is also called Mozartstadtnak (Mozart-town) is nevezik. The famous composer was born here and spent half his life in the town. Salzburg is one of the oldest towns in Austria with a significant cultural background. For instance you can find Hellbrunner Allee the oldest alley of the world and Festung Hohensalzburg the biggest fortress of Central Europe here. In the town there are altogether 39 conservation areas (eg. Kapuzinerberg, Salzachsee, Saalachspitz, Mönschberg, Reinberg) and only one nature reservation the Hammerauer Moor. If you visit Salzburg it is worth visiting the Old Town, the Hellbrunn castle, the Hellbrunn alley, the Mozart monument, the Town Hall square, the Mirabell castle with its beautiful garden, the dome of Salzburg, the Franciscan church.

Most important sights of the region: Eisriesenwelt, the waterfall of Krimml, spas in Bad Gastein and Bad Hofgastein, the ski areas, Salzkammergut, Grossglockner Hochalpenstrasse, Liechtensteinklamm, Salzburg, Kapuzinerberg, the lakes: Wallersee, Zellersee, Mattsee, Wolfgangsee, the Mirabell castle and garden, Hellbrunn castle and alley, the Mozart monument


Styria

Styria is situated at the south-eastern part of Austria. Its capital is Graz. The region with its toatl area of 16,388 km. is the second largest Austrian province. Styria consists of Upper Styria, West Styria and East Styria. The province has three main rivers, the Enns, the Mura and the Raba. The region is very rich in forests that is why it has been the logging centre of Austria. It is a favourable destination among the hunters and tourists. It is worth visiting the Schloss Herbstein Zoo and Nature Park in Stubenberg am See. You can find the largest cheetah population of Europe in this ZOO. The most popular castle of the region is the Schloss Eggenberg in Graz. One of the tourist attractions of Styria is the Riegersburg, the history of which dates back to the 11th century.

Graz: With its four universities Graz is one of the most important university cities of Austria. The city is divided into two parts by the River Mura and is surrounded by mountains. In 2003 it was the Cultural Capital of Europe. The old Town of Graz belongs to the World Heritage Sites of the UNESCO. The main sights of the city are also located here. These are for example the Schlossberg, the City Hall, the City Park and the Opera House, the Botanical Garden and the Franciscan church. It is worth visiting also the Eggenberg Castle surrounded by a beautiful park. The city gives home for numerous festivals and organisations every year. These are for example the Spring Festival, the Jazz-Summer Graz, the Styriarte etc.

Most important sights of the region: Schloss Herbstein Zoo and Nature Park, the Riegersburg, the Obenkapfenberg Castle, the Schlossberg in Graz, the Dachstein mountain, the Mariatrost Basilika in Graz, the Mausoleum of Emperor Ferdinand II, the House of Arts, the castle ruins in Gösting, the Dome in Graz, the City Museum in Graz


Tyrol

Tyrol is located at the western part of Austria. Its capital is Innsbruck. In Austria there are only 2 parts of Tyrol situated in Austria. These are North and East Tyrol. You can find the Grossglockner one of the highest mountain ranges in this region. 40% of the total area of the province is covered with forests. The best ski resorts such as Kitzbühel, Wilder Kaiser, Ischgl and St. Anton offer a pleasant winter holiday for everyone. The mountains offer furthermore hiking paths. The province favours the fans of water sports also. Many people visit Tyrol because of its cultural organizations and events.

Innsbruck: Innsbruck is the fifth biggest city of Austria. The city hosted the Winter Olympics in 1964 and 1976. Innsbruck attracts the tourists in winter and summer as well. It is worth visiting the Hofburg, the Ambras Castle, the Ottoburg and the Wilten Basilica in the city centre. Also make an excursion to the 2000m high Seegrube. From the top you can enjoy the beautiful panorama in summer and in winter as well.

Most important sights of the region: Grossglockner, Seegrube, Hofburgot, Ambras Castle, Ottoburg, Wilten Basilica, Rafoldi Park, Land Museum of Tyrol, Maria Theresia Street


Vorarlberg

Vorarlberg is the westernmost and the second smallest province of Austria. Its capital is Bregenz and its largest city is Dornbirn the centre of the textiles. In this city it is worth visiting the Land Museum of Voralrberg and the Rolls Royce Museum. The province is located between the Arlberg Mountain and the Lake Boden. The highest mountain of the region is the Piz Buin with its 3.312 m height. The delta of the Rhine is the favourite relaxing and breeding place of many bird species. The province offers numerous recreation possibilities. It has approx. 300 km of cycle track. The Festive Games of Bregenz are organized every summer at the Lake Constance. You can find the Pfänder Mountain near Bregenz to which you can get in 10 minutes using the lift. Take a walk in the animal park and watch a real show of raptorial birds.

Bregenz: The city was funded on a plateau 2000 years ago. Sometime Romans lived here. The city consists of 2 parts: the Upper City and the Lower City. The Upper city with the original city wall from the 16th century is the older part. Its main sight is the St. Martin Tower. The City Hall built in 1686 can be found in the Lower City. With its numerous theatres and galleries the city is the cultural centre of the province.

Most important sights of the region: Lake Boden, Lake Constance, Piz Buin Mountain, Pfänder Mountain, Dornbirn, Rolls Royce Museum, Land Museum of Vorarlberg, Festive Games of Bregenz, the St. Martin tower in Bregenz, the City Hall, the St. Gallus church


Vienna

Vienna is the smallest province and the capital of Austria. The city is a venue of many international congresses and fares. It is also the political and cultural centre of the country. The city is located in the Valley of Vienna and it is divided into 2 parts by the River Danube. Vienna has 23 districts of which the 1st district is the Old Town. Due to its historical and cultural values the city is a beloved tourist destination. Many people visit Vienna in December because the Christmas markets and the balls are organized in this month. Most of the sights of the city can be visited all year. The landmark of Vienna is the 97 m high St. Stephen's Cathedral (Stephansdom). The Hofburg, which consists of 18 buildings is situated at the Heroes Square (Heldenplatz). As Vienna is the city of music annually numerous concerts, operas, operettas are presented in the State Opera House (Staatsoper), in the Folk Theatre (Volksoper), in the Concert House and in the Institutes of the Musikverein. Those who are interested in the art works can choose among various galleries and museums such as the Albertina, the Art Histoty Museum (Kunsthistorisches Museum), the Natural History Museum (Naturhistorisches Museum), the Belvedere or the Leopold Museum. Many parks and gardens offer possibility to relax in the city: the Stadtpark, the Burggarten, the Volksgarten (part of the Hofburg), the Schloßpark at the Belvedere Castlel, the Donaupark, the park of the Schönbrunn Castle, the Prater, the Augarten and the Rathauspark at the City Hall. The north-western part of Vienna is called Döbling and it is famous for wine growing and wine (heurige). The other curiositie of Viennese culture are the nuerous cafés offering various coffe specialities. The Mariahilferstrasse with a lot of cafés, shops and restaurants is the main shopping street of the city.

Most important sights of the region: St. Stephen's Cathedral (Stephansdom), Hofburg, State Opera House (Staatsoper), Volksoper, Albertina, Art History Museum (Kunsthistorisches Museum), Natural History Museum (Naturhistorisches Museum), Belvedere, Leopold Museum, Spanish Riding School, Stadtpark, Prater, Schönbruni Castle and ZOO, Museum Quarter, Mariahilferstrasse, City Hall (Rathaus)



www.vho.at | Contact us

Email: office@vho.at
Tel: +43 1 253 0033
Fax: +43 1 253 0034

All rights reserved.

VIENNA HOTELS ONLINE - VHO


english version deutsch Verzion magyar változat versione italiana
English Deutsch Magyar Italiano

Österreichische Bundesländer


Wien Hotelführer:
Hotels in der Nähe des Stephansplatzes
Hotels der Mariahilfstrasse (Westbahnhof)
Hotels in der Gegend des Südbahnhofes
Hotels in der Nähe Schönbrunns
Hotelliste nach Bezirken
Billige Hotels in Wien
Tierfreundliche Hotels
Ökohotel
Hotels mit klimatisierten Zimmer
Hotels für Rollstuhlfahrer
Hotels mit kostenlose Parkmöglichkeit
Internet in den Hotels
Hotel mit Wasserbett im Zimmer
Hotels für Familien
Hotels in Grünzonen
Hotels in der Innenstadt
Pensionen
Hostel
Hotelreservierung
Hotelpreise
Saisons
Unterkunftssuche
Saisonhotels

Wien Reiseführer:
Der Prater
Die Hofburg
Der Stephansdom
Wiener Museums Quartier
Albertina Museum
Wiener Tiergarten
Die Spanische Reitschule
Flughafen Wien
Entfernungen von Wien
Der Wiener Beisl
Internetbenützung in Wien
Geldaufnahme und Kartenbenützung
Massenverkehr in Wien
Taxi in Wien
Einkaufen in Wien
Mariahilferstrasse
Stadtrundfahrt mit Fiaker
Wien, Teil der UNESCO Welterbe

Tourismus in Österreich:
Österreichische Bundesländer
Die Hotelsterne in Österreich
Salzburg, Teil der UNESCO Welterbe
Reisewörterbuch
Schifahren in Österreich
Mit dem Bahn in Österreich


Hotelbuchung
Autovermietung
Burgenland

Das 3 965,46 km. Fläche aufweisendes Burgenland ist das Ungarn angrenzendes Bundesland Österreichs. Die Landeshauptstadt ist Eisenstadt. Das Bundesland besteht aus 7 politischen Bezirken und 2 Statutarstädte (Eisenstadt und Rust). Die Einwohner sind vorwiegend deutschsprachig. Das Gebiet gehörte damals zur ungarischen Reichshälfte von Österreich-Ungarn. Trotz den türkischen Anfälle sind viele Kirchen, Burgen, Schlösser und Festungen sind verblieben. Das Kulturelle Zentrum vom Burgenland ist Eisenstadt. Joseph Haydn hat hier auch viel gearbeitet. Aus touristischer Hinsicht ist Burgenland nicht das herausragendste Bundesland Österreichs, doch es sind bedeutende Radtouren in diesen Gegend.

Eisenstadt: Liegt von Ödenburg 12 Kilometer entfernt, auf einer zur Wulkaebene abfallenden Terrasse am südlichen Füße des Leithagebirges. Die Stadt war ehemals das Zentrum des Eisenhandels. Es lohnt sich das Schloss Esterhazy, das Haydnmuseum, die Franziskanerkirche und Kloster, sowie den Dom zu besichtigen.

Wichtige Sehenswürdigkeiten des Bundeslandes: Kultur des Neusiedlersees, Schloss Esterhazy und Haydnmuseum in Eisenstadt, Das Burgkastell von Forchtenstein und Güssing, der Burgstall von Landsee, gotische Kirche in Mariasdorf.


Kärnten

Vor allem durch seine Berg- und Seenlandschaft bekannt Kärnten ist am südlichsten liegende Bundesland Österreichs. Kärnten hat eine Fläche von 9 535, 97 km km., die Landeshauptstadt ist Klagenfurt am Wörthersee. Die Mehrheit der Bevölkerung ist deutschsprachig. Das Wörthersee, welche im Sommer sehr viele Touristen zieht, liegt westlich von Klagenfurt. Außer Wörthersee sind noch die folgenden Seen sehr beliebt: Millstätter See, Ossiacher See und Weißensee. Neben den Seen sind auch im Sommer die Berge und die Alpengebiete von den Touristen sehr beliebt. Im Winter sind die populärsten Schizentralen: Bad Kleinkirchheim, Nassfeld, Innerkrems und Gerlitzen.

Klagenfurt: Die Stadt liegt am östlichen Ende des Wörthersees. Im Sommer ist es hier heiß und im Winter ziemlich kalt. Die Stadt hat schon mehrmals abgebrannt, deswegen hat man immer neugebaut so liegt jetzt eine moderne Stadt vor uns. Das Symbol der Stadt ist ein Lindwurm. Die Hauptdenkwürdigkeiten der Stadt sind: der Minimundus, der Lindwurmbrunnen, die Burg Hochosterwitz und die barock Kathedrale.

Wichtige Sehenswürdigkeiten des Bundeslandes: Klagenfurt und Villach, Stift St. Paul im Lavantall, Wörthersee, Ossiacher See, Faakersee und a Millstätter See, die folgenden Schizentralen: Nassfeld/Hermagor, Gerlitzen, Bad Kleinkirchheim und Heiligenblut, Gurk Kathedrale, Burg Hochosterwitz, der Großglockner, der größte Berg Österreichs und das Gebiet von Nockberge.


Niederösterreich

Das Bundesland liegt an nordöstlichen Teil Österreich, die Landeshauptstadt ist Sankt Pölten. Niederösterreich ist mit 19.177,78 km. das flächenmäßig größte Bundesland Österreichs. Es ist landschaftlich in Viertel eingeteilt: das Weinviertel und das Waldviertel nördlich, das Mostviertel und das Industrieviertel südlich der Donau.
Die Tourismuswirtschaft bewirbt vor allem die großen Kulturzentren im Land, aber auch Urlaub am Bauernhof wird stark beworben und gerne angenommen. Winters ziehen die Schizentren die Touristen. Die Zauber der Landschaft sind die vielen Klöster und Schlösser, Museums, Ausstellungen, Freilichtbühne, Veranstaltung und Festivals.

Sankt Pölten: Die Stadt befindet sich im nördlichen Alpenvorland, südlich der Wachau. Sie zählt somit zum Mostviertel, dem südwestlichen der vier Viertel Niederösterreichs. Während den letzten zwei Jahrzehnten hat Sankt Pölten als Kulturzentrum für Niederösterreich ausgewachsen. Sehenswert sind in der Stadt: das Rathaus, die Domkirche, die Franziskanerkirche, das Schloss Pottenbrunn, das Schloss Ochsenbrug, das Stadtmuseum und das Landestheater.

Wichtige Sehenswürdigkeiten des Bundeslandes: Klöstern (Melk, Dürnstein, Seitenstetten, Göttweig, Klosterneuburg, Zwettl), Schlössern mit laufenden Ausstellungen (Schallaburg, Schloss Grafenegg, Schloss Thürnthal, Schloss Wilfersdorf, Schloss Hof), Niederösterreichisches Landesmuseum, die römischen Ausgrabungen in Carnuntum, Museum für Urgeschichte, die Stadtbühne Baden sowie die gut besuchten Sommerbühnen in Berndorf, Stockerau, Langenlois, Rosenburg.


Oberösterreich

Oberösterreich befindet sich an den nördlichen Teil Österreichs, im Donau-Gebirgstal. Seine Fläche ist 11.981,92 km., die Landeshauptstadt ist Linz.
Oberösterreich ist ein Bundesland die geheimnisvollen Wälder, saubere Flüsse, grüne Wiesen, Heilwasser und die Gebirge. In Oberösterreich sind der Nationalpark Kalkalpen und der Nationalpark Rechberg zu finden. Der Gegend ist optimal für Abendteuersportfreunden und bietet Wander- und Fahrradwege. Dieses Bundesland kann auf Österreichs größte und sauberste See, auf den 170 Meter tiefen Attersee stolz sein. Besehenswert ist hier Hallstatt und das antik Gräberfeld, das Wasserschloss Aistersheim, das Schloss Greinburg und das Kloster Kremsmünster.

Linz: Linz ist die drittgrößte Stadt Österreichs. Sie erstreckt sich auf beiden Seiten der Donau. 2009 wird Linz für ein halbes Jahr Europäische Kulturhauptstadt sein. Linz erwartet die Besucher mit eine Menge Sehenswürdigkeiten, wie z.B. der Hauptplatz, alter Dom, Oberösterreichisches Landesmuseum, Linzer Schloss und der Botanikgarten.

Wichtige Sehenswürdigkeiten des Bundeslandes: Linz, Hallstatt, Salzkammerguter Seen, Kalkalpen Nationalpark, Rechberger Nationalpark, Oberösterreichisches Landesmuseum, Ars Electronica Center, das Gahberger Observatorium, die Dachsteiner Höhlen.


Salzburg

Salzburg besitzt eine Fläche von 7154,23 km., damit ist eine von den kleinsten Bundesländern Österreichs. Die Landeshauptstadt ist Salzburg. Das Bundesland an der nördlichen Teil der Alpen bietet zahlreiche Programmmöglichkeiten für die Touristen. In diesem Bundesland ist z.B. die Eisriesenwelt, Europas größte Eishölle, die Krimmler Wasserfälle und zahlreiche Salzwerke zu finden. Zwei weltberühmte Heilbäder in Bad Gastein und in Bad Hofgastein erwarten die Besucher, die sich entspannen möchten. Im Winter kann man aus vielen Schiparadiesen wählen: Sportwelt Amadé (St. Johann im Pongau, Flachau, Zauchensee, Wagrain), Hochkönig Winterreich (Hochkönig, Maria Alm), Europasportregion (Kaprun, Zell am See), Saalbach Hinterglemm, Obertauern Gasteinertal (Bad Gastein, Bad Hofgastein, Dorfgastein), Wildkogel Arena (Neukirchen am Großvenediger), Werfenweng és Lofer.

Salzburg: Die Stadt wird auch oft Mozartstadt genannt, weil Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart hier geboren wurde und mehr als die Hälfte seines kurzen Lebens hier verbrachte. Salzburg ist die älteste Stadt im Gebiet des heutigen Österreich. Salzburg besitzt eine besonders lange kulturelle Tradition. Hier finden sich u. a.: die weltweit älteste erhaltene Allee, die Hellbrunner Allee und der größte erhaltene historische Wehrbau Mitteleuropas, die Festung Hohensalzburg. In der Stadt Salzburg befinden sich insgesamt 39 Geschützte Landschaftsteile (z.B. Kapuzinerberg, Salzachsee, Saalachspitz, Mönschberg, Reinberg) und ein einzige Naturschutzgebiet, das Hammerauer Moor. Es gibt hier sehr vieles zu sehen: die Altstadt, das Schloss Hellbrunn, die Hellbrunner Allee, das Mozartdenkmal, der Rathausplatz, das Schloss und Garten Mirabell, der Salzburger Dom und die Franziskanerkirche.

Wichtige Sehenswürdigkeiten des Bundeslandes: Eisriesenwelt, Krimmler Wasserfall, Heilbäder im Bad Gastein und im Bad Hofgastein, Schiparadiese: Salzkammergut, Großglockner Hochalpenstrasse, Liechtensteinklamm, Salzburg, Kapuzinerberg, die Seen: Wallersee, Zellersee, Mattsee, Wolfgangsee, das Schloss und Garten Mirabell, das Schloss Hellbrunn und der Hellbrunner Allee, Mozartdenkmal.


Steiermark

Steiermark liegt auf den südöstlichen Teil Österreichs, die Landeshauptstadt ist Graz.
Das Bundesland Steiermark verfügt über eine Fläche von 16.391,93 km. und ist somit das zweitgrößte Bundesland Österreichs. Die Steiermark ist in mehrere Regionen gegliedert: Obersteiermark, Weststeiermark und Oststeiermark. Das Bundesland hat drei bedeutende Flüsse, die Enns, die Mur und die Raab. Dieses Gebiet ist reich an Wäldern, deswegen ist dieses Bundesland das Holzindustriezentrum Österreichs. Steiermark ist von Jägern und Touristen sehr beliebt. Es lohnt sich den Tier- und Naturpark Schloss Herbstein in Stubenberg am See besuchen. Der Tierpark verfügt über die größte Gepardenanlage Europas. Der berühmteste Schloss in diesem Bundesland ist das Schloss Eggenberg in Graz. Die Größte Burg in der Steiermark ist die Riegersburg, deren Anfänge ins 11. Jahrhundert zurückreichen

Graz: Graz ist mit 4 Universitäten der zweitgrößte Universitätsstandort Österreichs. Graz liegt an beiden Seiten der Mur und ist an drei Seiten von Bergen umschlossen. Im Jahr 2003 wurde Graz Kulturhauptstadt Europas. Die Grazer Altstadt wurde zum Weltkulturerbe erklärt. Das größte Teil der Sehenswürdigkeiten befinden sich in der Altstadt: der Schlossberg, das Rathaus, die Stadtpark und die Grazer Oper in seiner Nähe, der Botanikgarten und die Franziskanerkirche. Die meistbesuchte Sehenswürdigkeit von Graz befindet sich nicht in der Grazer Altstadt, sondern am westlichen Stadtrand: der Park des Schloss Eggenbergs. In der Stadt werden jährlich mehrere Veranstaltungen und Festrivalen, wie Frühlingsfestival, Jazz-Sommer Graz, Styriarte usw. Veranstaltet.

Wichtige Sehenswürdigkeiten des Bundeslandes: Tier- und Naturpark Schloss Herbstein, Riegersburg, Obenkapfenberg, Grazer Schlossberg, Dachsteinberg, Österreichisches Freilandmuseum Stübingben, Grazer Mariatrost Basilika, Mausoleum Ferdinand II., Kunsthaus, Grazer Dom, Grazer Stadtmuseum.


Tirol

Tirol befindet sich vom Westen Österreichs. Die Landeshauptstadt ist Innsbruck. Aus den vier Teilen Tirols befindet sich Nord- und Osttirol in Österreich. In diesem Bundesland die Großglockner, eine der größte Berg Österreichs zu finden. 40% des Gebietes ist Wald. Hier sind die besten österreichischen Loipen. Berühmte Schiparadiesen sind z.B. Kitzbühel, Wilder Kaiser, Ischgl und St. Anton. Neben Schi fahren kann man in den Bergen Wander- und Fahrradtouren organisieren. Das Bundesland ist auch für Wassersportfreunde günstig. Tirol wird auch oft wegen den Kulturellen Veranstaltungen wie z.B. Festwochen der alte Musik, Tanztheaters und die Tiroler Festspiele.

Innsbruck: Tirol ist die fünftgrößte Stadt Österreichs. 1964 und 1976 war Innsbruck Austragungsort der Olympischen Winterspiele. Innsbruck zeiht die Touristen so im Sommer wie auch im Winter. Im Stadtzentrum ist die Hofburg, das Schloss Ambras, die Ottoburg und die Wiltener Basilika ist zu besuchen. Zu der 2000 Meter hohen Seegrube lohnt sich unbedingt ein Ausflug zu machen, weil von oben hat man im Sommer und im Winter ein wunderschönes Panorama.

Wichtige Sehenswürdigkeiten des Bundeslandes: Großglockner, Seegrube, Hofburg, Schloss Ambras, Ottoburg, Wiltener Basilika, Rafolder Park, Tiroler Landesmuseum, Maria Theresia Strasse.


Vorarlberg

Voralberg ist das westlichste und das zweitkleinste Bundesland Österreichs. Vorarlberg hat Grenzen mit dem Schweizer Kanton St. Gallen und dem Fürstentum Liechtenstein im Westen, dem Kanton Graubünden im Süden, mit dem österreichischen Bundesland Tirol im Osten und dem deutschen Bundesland Bayern im Norden. Die Landeshauptstadt ist Bregenz, die größte Stadt Dorbirn, die Zentrale der Textilindustrie. In dieser Stadt lohnt sich das Voralberger Landesmuseum und das Rolls Royce Museum zu besichtigen. Das Bundesland befindet sich zwischen Arlberg und der Bodensee. Berg ist der Piz Buin in der Silvretta mit 3.312 Meter. Das Naturschutzgebiet Rheindelta ist das größte Feuchtgebiet am Bodensee und zählt zu den bedeutendsten Brut- und Rastgebieten für Vögel. Das Bundesland bietet eine Menge Ablenkungsmöglichkeiten. Bietet z.B. eine ca. 300 Kilometer langen Radweg an. Sommers werden am Bodensee die Bregenzer Festspiele veranstaltet. Die Vorstellungen werden auf der Seebühne gespielt (Spiel auf dem See). Nicht weit von Bregenz befindet sich der Pfänder, was mit dem Aufzug in 10 Minuten zu erreichen ist. Hier befindet sich einen Wildpark, wo man auch auf einen Raumvogel Vorführung zuschauen kann.

Bregenz: Bregenz liegt am Ostufer des Bodensees. Die Stadt wurde vor 2000 Jahren auf einer Gebirgsebene gebildet. Damals haben Römer hier gewohnt. Bregenz besteht aus zwei Ortsteilen: Obere- und Untere Stadt. Die Obere Stadt ist älter, hier steht immer noch die alte Stadtwand aus dem 16. Jh. Die Hauptsehenswürdigkeit der Stadt ist der Martinsturm. In der Untere Stadt ist das 1686 gebautes Stadthaus zu finden. Mit zahlreichen Theatern und Galerien ist die Stadt ein Kulturzentrum der Region.

Wichtige Sehenswürdigkeiten des Bundeslandes: Bodensee, Piz Buin, Pfänder und der Wildgarten, Dornbirn, Rolls Royce Museum, Vorarlberger Landesmuseum, Bregenzer Festspiele, Martinturm in Bregenz, Stadthaus, Stadtpfarrkirche St. Gallus.


Wien

Wien ist die Bundeshauptstadt und zugleich eines der neun Bundesländer Österreichs, internationalen Kongress- und Messenstadt. Mit einer Fläche von 414,65 km. das kleinste Bundesland. Die Stadt liegt in nordwestlichen Bereich des Wiener Beckens, das Stadtgebiet erstreckt sich beiderseits des Flusses Donau. Wien wird heute in 23. Bezirken unterteilt, die historische Altstadt ist heute in Großteil des 1. Bezirks. Die Innenbezirke werden durch den Gürtel von den Außenbezirken abgegrenzt. Die historischen und Kulturellen Werten dankend, Wien ist ein beliebter Touristenzielpunkt. Die Stadt hat im Dezember viele Besucher, weil in diesem Monat die Adventmessen in der Stadt veranstaltet sind. Die meisten Sehenswürdigkeiten sind aber in ganzem Jahr zu sehen. Das Symbol der Stadt ist das 97 Meter hohen Stephansdom. Die ca. 4 Kilometer langen Ringstrasse hat wunderschöne Bauwerke im Stil der Neorenaissance, neo-attisch, Flämischen Gotik und neogotisch. Auf dem Heldenplatz befindet sich die, aus 18 Bauteilen bestehende Hofburg. Wien ist auch eine Stadt der Musik, eine Menge Konzerte, Opern und Operette werden in der Staatsoper, in der Volksoper, im Konzerthaus und im Musikverein aufgeführt. Wer sich auf der Wiener Bildende Kunst interessiert, kann aus vielen Galerien und Museums, wie z.B. die Albertina, Kunsthistorisches Museum, Naturhistorisches Museum, das Belvedere, das Leopold Museum usw. wählen. In der Stadt sind auch sehr viele Parken und Gartens: der Stadtpark, der Burggarten, der Volksgarten (gehört zur Hofburg), der Schloßpark bei Belvedere, der Donaupark, Schlosspark Schönbrunn, die Prater, der Augarten und der Rathauspark. Wien ist weltweit eine der wenigen Metropolen mit eigenem Weinanbaugebiet. Döbling, der nord-westlichen Bezirk Wiens ist berühmt von dem Weinbau und Weinkellers. Eine andere Besonderheit der Wiener Kultur ist das viele Cafés, wo man eine Menge Kaffeespezialitäten ausprobieren kann. Die Mariahilferstrasse ist mit den vielen Cafés, Restaurants und Geschäften die Haupteinkaufstrasse der Stadt.

Wichtige Sehenswürdigkeiten des Bundeslandes: Der Stephansdom, die Hofburg, die Staatsoper, die Volksoper, die Albertina, das Kunsthistorisches Museum, das Naturhistorisches Museum, das Belvedere, das Leopold Museum, die Spanischen Hofreitschule, der Stadtpark, der Prater, das Schloss, park und Tierpark Schönbrunn, die Belvedere, das Museumsquartier, die Mariahilferstrasse, das Rathaus.



www.vho.at | Contact us

Email: office@vho.at
Tel: +43 1 253 0033
Fax: +43 1 253 0034

All rights reserved.